Topeka West Student & Teacher Receive Cash Awards

Topeka West Student & Teacher Receive Cash Awards From TPS Foundation
Posted on 05/19/2023
Ms. Lori Booher was awarded the first-ever $500 TPS Foundation - Class of ‘67 Teaching cash Award at the Topeka West High School (TWHS) Senior Scholarships & Awards Night!

In addition, Dr. Carl E. McFarland, Professor and Chair Emeritus Dept of Psychology, University Of Alabama at Birmingham, sent Ms. Booher the book "School House Burning" by Derek W. Black with a personal inscription. The recipient also received a glass apple, and a plaque with her name will be placed at TWHS.

TWHS alumnus Dr. Carl McFarland, Dr. David Reibstein, distinguished business professor at the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania; Dr. Judy Joss, veterinarian and major philanthropist in Kansas City; Dr. Neal Satten, medical director for United Healthcare; and Cynthia Schmidt Heath, former TWHS teacher & corporate lawyer; created the Class of ‘67 Teaching Award Scholarship to uplift the profession of teaching and to honor teaching at TWHS.

In addition, TWHS class of 2023 graduate Byron Howell was presented with the TPS Foundation $500 cash reward of the endowed Dr. Carl E. Mcfarland Science Award. Dr. McFarland established this award in 2022. Byron received the award for his essay on the perplexing problem of clinical depression.

In addition, he was presented two books, "Behave" by Robert Sapolsky and "The Emperor's New Drugs" by Irving Kirsh. Both books contained a personal inscription from Dr. McFarland. Byron plans to major in Behavioral Neuroscience at the University of Kansas next fall.

Congratulations to both recipients, and special thanks to the illustrious alums that established these exceptional TWHS cash Awards!
Engage students in the highest quality of learning • Prepare students for responsible, productive citizenship • Inspire excellence for a lifetime
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.